The Long Awaited and Affectionately Named Crack Cookies

I know I’ve written about the “Crack Cookies” before so I am finally getting around to sharing the recipe.

Double Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

1/2 cup butter
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon peppermint extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup white chocolate chips

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees
– Mix all wet ingredients with sugars and cocoa powder
– Add baking soda, salt and flour
– Add chips

I like rolling them into golf-ball sized treats for when I’m just making them to have around the house, but if I’m taking them to a party or work I’ll use a melon baller to measure bite-sized yummies.  Bake time will vary based on the size cookie you decide to make, but it should take no more than 12 minutes for the larger cookies.  Just keep a close eye – even I can pay attention for 10 minutes.

If you love chocolate peppermint these cookies hit the spot.  You could exchange my white chocolate chips with regular chips if you’re not a fan but I would suggest you try it with the white chocolate first because it’s my absolute favorite.  Or if you’re like me and running low on chips all together you can do half chocolate, half white chocolate.  It is impossible to mess these up.

Have something to add?

