Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

I have been training for (and just completed) my first sprint triathlon. I actually love training, but find that there is not enough food in the world to satisfy me during those intense training times. It’s especially bad when I wake up in the morning. I need protein, stat!

I’m usually an egg person but when I want a little but of a treat, I go for pancakes. (I have a bit of a sweet tooth.) If I’m going to eat pancakes, I want to make sure that they have some nutritional value.

Making them whole wheat is a no brainer, and I add bananas for a bit of sweetness.

Ingredients:
1 c whole wheat flour
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 TBSP vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 c water (you can also use milk for a richer taste)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp melted butter

1/2 banana
1/8 c chocolate chips

Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and whisk until smooth. The above recipe makes about 6 large pancakes.

I also like to add a layer of peanut butter between two pancakes to make them even more satisfying.

20140615-165140-60700408.jpg

Have something to add?

